Welcome to symthic forums! We would love if you'd register!
You don't have to be expert in bit baking, everyone is more than welcome to join our community.

You are not logged in.

Hey! If this is your first visit on symthic.com, also check out our weapon damage charts.
Currently we have charts for Battlefield 3, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, Medal of Honor: Warfighter and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Pheo

I turn down for no one

(1,174)

Posts: 6,877

Date of registration
: May 3rd 2012

Platform: PC

Location: Boston

Reputation modifier: 14

  • Send private message

3,521

Tuesday, July 22nd 2014, 2:31am

I <3 Based Micro Center


Some FYI, it's Micro Center's prices VS Amazon Primes prices for the same things.

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "Pheo" (Jul 22nd 2014, 2:38am)


ToTheSun!

Be Creative.

(5,050)

Posts: 7,811

Date of registration
: Mar 9th 2012

Platform: PC

Location: Portugal

Reputation modifier: 19

  • Send private message

3,522

Tuesday, July 22nd 2014, 8:59am

Pheo, you have too much money. Send me some!

Pheo

I turn down for no one

(1,174)

Posts: 6,877

Date of registration
: May 3rd 2012

Platform: PC

Location: Boston

Reputation modifier: 14

  • Send private message

3,523

Wednesday, July 23rd 2014, 5:38am

Pheo, you have too much money. Send me some!

Lol, no. I actually make pretty shitty pay for having to get bitched at every day. I've just been saving my pennies since I started working. Time to spend it now, though.

Still deciding between Haswell-E and Devils Canyon.

ToTheSun!

Be Creative.

(5,050)

Posts: 7,811

Date of registration
: Mar 9th 2012

Platform: PC

Location: Portugal

Reputation modifier: 19

  • Send private message

3,524

Wednesday, July 23rd 2014, 9:03am

Pheo, you have too much money. Send me some!

Lol, no. I actually make pretty shitty pay for having to get bitched at every day. I've just been saving my pennies since I started working. Time to spend it now, though.

Still deciding between Haswell-E and Devils Canyon.

This is very obvious shit, but my advice is to (and this is considering the fact that you've been saving and "make pretty shitty pay") get just exactly what you need and nothing more and/or the best bang/buck.
Save the remainder for later or something else you might need.

I'm going to buy a car in around a week. I was going for 5-6k used, which i'd have to pay with a loan. Yesterday, i decided that i didn't need a car that expensive. I've been looking at very good deals for 2-3k that will, very likely, last me some 10 years, and which i'll be able to pay in 1 sitting. It was a LOAD off my mind.

Nick 30075

2manyPosts4me

(1,936)

Posts: 9,753

Date of registration
: Jan 7th 2012

Platform: PC

Location: 'Murrica

Battlelog:

Reputation modifier: 19

  • Send private message

3,525

Thursday, July 24th 2014, 9:31pm

Anyone interested in a used GTX760? I'm hoping to upgrade my 760 but I'd like to have an extra $150-$200 to fiddle with. Probably either a 770 or a 290.

Guys, I have a question. I have a 620W power supply and my GTX760 (draws 500W) runs fine. I'm looking at a GTX770 which draws 600W. I know absolutely nothing about PSUs and such, so just quickly, would it run it? PSU is a Seasonic S12II.

EDIT:
Oh, and this is sexy.
ASUS ROG MARS760-4GD5 GeForce GTX 760x2 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Newegg.com
Emperor Nick of the Cult of Defibrillation
Sith Deity of Thread-Killing


I'm basically just a degenerate weeb who doesn't post much nowadays.

I'm secretly Old Man Symthic

Siggy thingies


Gaming Stuff


Words of Wisdom (not really)

Quoted from "Blue Panda"

You're fedorable :love:

Quoted from "ToTheSun!"

I have the highest postcount. Nick doesn't count.

Quoted

23:44 Lt_Col_Jesus: I'm -
23:44 Lt_Col_Jesus: Okay
23:44 Lt_Col_Jesus: I'm stabbing everyone
23:44 Lt_Col_Jesus: Bye guys
23:44 Nick: *flips table*
23:44 Legion: Bye, happy stabbing
23:44 *** Lt_Col_Jesus quit (Quit: off to murder the public at large).

Quoted

10:41 LB: You just...reanimated Steve Jobs.
10:41 Dice: Well that would be unfortunate, I was just getting used to him being dead.

Quoted from "Pheozero"

... fuck. Damn you hindsight!

Quoted

23:58 Failure117: CAUSE IM FREEE
23:58 Nick: AS A BIIIIRD NOW
23:58 Failure117: FREEE OF NICK'S WORM RAPE

Quoted

ViperFTW: HEY LOOK
ViperFTW: AN ALIEN LASER FISH THE SIZE OF THE SUN
ViperFTW: I WANT TO SWAT IT WITH MY COMICLY LARGE SWORD
ViperFTW: WITH
ViperFTW: THIS
ViperFTW: AS
ViperFTW: MY
ViperFTW: FUUUUCKING SOUNDTRACK :DDDD
(the album in question)

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "Nick 30075" (Jul 24th 2014, 10:22pm)


IG

Always trust a Tork!

(1,364)

Posts: 3,844

Date of registration
: Dec 24th 2011

Platform: PC

Location: ebenin ami

Battlelog:

Reputation modifier: 15

  • Send private message

3,526

Thursday, July 24th 2014, 10:59pm

Anyone interested in a used GTX760? I'm hoping to upgrade my 760 but I'd like to have an extra $150-$200 to fiddle with. Probably either a 770 or a 290.

Guys, I have a question. I have a 620W power supply and my GTX760 (draws 500W) runs fine. I'm looking at a GTX770 which draws 600W. I know absolutely nothing about PSUs and such, so just quickly, would it run it? PSU is a Seasonic S12II.

EDIT:
Oh, and this is sexy.
ASUS ROG MARS760-4GD5 GeForce GTX 760x2 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Newegg.com

yes.

Posts: 140

Date of registration
: May 16th 2012

Platform: PC

Reputation modifier: 7

  • Send private message

3,527

Saturday, July 26th 2014, 7:40pm

I have a rig with a 4570 and a GTX 770.

I think something's wrong with either my build or my game settings. Some people have claimed that they can get steady 60s on CPUs much older than mine. I get 30-40, rarely 50 fps on 64-man servers and it's driving me insane. MSI Afterburner tells me that my GPU is happily running at 60-70% usage while the CPU is at a constant 100%.

Someone once told me to skimp on the CPU since it won't help much for gaming and now I'm kinda regretting it...

This post has been edited 2 times, last edit by "pTowel" (Jul 26th 2014, 7:48pm)


R

tits pls

(2,621)

Posts: 1,871

Date of registration
: Sep 16th 2012

Platform: PC

Location: VY Canis Majoris

Battlelog:

Reputation modifier: 14

  • Send private message

3,528

Saturday, July 26th 2014, 8:25pm

I have a 620W power supply and my GTX760 (draws 500W) runs fine. I'm looking at a GTX770 which draws 600W.


760 does not draw 500w of power at all. Thats just what the manufacturer says... You could run a 780ti on a 500w system and be perfectly fine. In fact, I think thats what Rezal is doing.
Your 620w PSU will be just fine for a 770.

Here are a couple sites that should calculate how much power would be necessary
eXtreme Power Supply Calculator
Cooler Master Power Supply Calculator

Miffyli

Symthic Developer

(6,460)

Posts: 3,700

Date of registration
: Mar 21st 2013

Platform: PC

Location: __main__, Finland

Reputation modifier: 16

  • Send private message

3,529

Saturday, July 26th 2014, 8:35pm

I have a rig with a 4570 and a GTX 770.

I think something's wrong with either my build or my game settings. Some people have claimed that they can get steady 60s on CPUs much older than mine. I get 30-40, rarely 50 fps on 64-man servers and it's driving me insane. MSI Afterburner tells me that my GPU is happily running at 60-70% usage while the CPU is at a constant 100%.

Someone once told me to skimp on the CPU since it won't help much for gaming and now I'm kinda regretting it...

Your CPU should be more than enough for BF4 tho, even with 64 player servers. I really doubt it's CPU bottlenecking your gaming even with usage like that.
Your GPU usage seems tad odd. It should be going more like 90% instead of just 70% even with lower settings and vsync (and from what I recall, BF4 doesn't have fps caps). This is a cliché, but have you updated your drivers etc?
Links to users' thread list who have made analytical/statistical/mathematical/cool posts on Symthic:
  • 3VerstsNorth - Analysis of game mechanics in BF4 (tickrates, effects of tickrate, etc)
  • leptis - Analysis of shotguns, recoil, recoil control and air drag.
  • Veritable - Scoring of BF4/BF1 firearms in terms of usability, firing and other mechanics.
  • Miffyli - Random statistical analysis of BF4 battlereports/players and kill-distances. (list is cluttered with other threads).
Sorry if your name wasn't on the list, I honestly can't recall all names : ( . Nudge me if you want to be included

Posts: 140

Date of registration
: May 16th 2012

Platform: PC

Reputation modifier: 7

  • Send private message

3,530

Saturday, July 26th 2014, 8:52pm

Quoted

Your CPU should be more than enough for BF4 tho, even with 64 player servers. I really doubt it's CPU bottlenecking your gaming even with usage like that. Your GPU usage seems tad odd. It should be going more like 90% instead of just 70% even with lower settings and vsync (and from what I recall, BF4 doesn't have fps caps). This is a cliché, but have you updated your drivers etc?

I am running the latest beta drivers. But it's been always like this, before the 320 drivers, till now.

The reason why I think it might be a CPU bottleneck is because when I play on 32-man servers, I usually get a steady 60fps.

If it's a problem with the GPU, it miiiiight be with the OC software I used. I have heard that using multiple OC software concurrently can cause problems. Unfortunately, I heard that after I was already messing around with the Gigabyte OC Guru that came with my GPU and MSI Afterburner concurrently. I haven't heard if doing such things cause any lasting effects, though, and I've already uninstalled Gigabyte OC Guru.

I also have a custom config file, mostly to set renderaheadlimit to 1, cap FPS to 60 without using vysnc and get rid of suppression's visual effects, but again I doubt that's causing any problems. But here is my config file anyway.

Source code

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
GameTime.MaxVariableFps 60.000000
PostProcess.DynamicAOEnable 0
Render.DrawScreenInfo 0
RenderDevice.Dx11Dot1Enable 1
RenderDevice.Dx11Dot1RuntimeEnable 1
RenderDevice.Dx11Enable 1
RenderDevice.RenderAheadLimit 1
RenderDevice.TripleBufferingEnable 0
Screenshot.Format png
UI.DrawEnable 1
WorldRender.DxDeferredCsPathEnable 1
WorldRender.MotionBlurEnable 0
WorldRender.MotionBlurMaxSampleCount 0
WorldRender.MotionBlurQuality 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapEnable 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapResolution 1024
WorldRender.TransparencyShadowmapsEnable 0

This post has been edited 5 times, last edit by "pTowel" (Jul 26th 2014, 9:05pm)