Welcome to symthic forums! We would love if you'd register!
You don't have to be expert in bit baking, everyone is more than welcome to join our community.

You are not logged in.

Hey! If this is your first visit on symthic.com, also check out our weapon damage charts.
Currently we have charts for Battlefield 3, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, Medal of Honor: Warfighter and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Monday, August 15th 2016, 6:09pm

New to PC gaming, not new to PCs or Gaming

Hi guys

The last of my parts will arrive any day now, and I will join the master race. I'm a noob to gaming on PC, but not to gaming, and not to PCs - I was an IT guy for a living although I haven't touched windows in years, and have thousands of hours in BF3/4. So I'm kinda looking for noob tips for not-noobs.

For example I'll be disabling unneeded services in windows As I used to do on my DAW), but there may be some with which I should or should not play ?

I have heard of disabling mouse acceleration, some patches needed etc.... What's the story there?

Software. I have a bunch of monitoring tools and benchmarks and drivers and such, ready to go. I grabbed TS3, OBS Studio, Steam and Origin, antivirus (Do I even need this now with the in-built one?)... Am I missing anything?

This will be used strictly for gaming and capturing that gaming, otherwise I'll do all my work in Linux via dual boot. So it should be pretty simple I guess... I just feel like I'm missing something. I also feel like the build should be more light-weight since it's role is so limited.

Recent conversation has highlighted privacy/security issues with Win10, is there anything I can do about that? Are there tools that automate the process of cutting things out and turning things off?

I guess it's all about what I need to add, modify or remove in order to achieve maximum performance and security and privacy.
Any advice appreciated!

Miffyli

Symthic Developer

(6,073)

Date of registration
: Mar 21st 2013

Platform: PC