Welcome to symthic forums! We would love if you'd register!
You don't have to be expert in bit baking, everyone is more than welcome to join our community.

You are not logged in.

• "Duncdiddy" started this thread

Date of registration
: Feb 10th 2012

Platform: PC

Battlelog:

Reputation modifier: 5

Friday, January 25th 2013, 9:27pm

Semi Auto Sniper Recoil and Spread Analysis

I've been lurking in these forums for quite a while, soaking up info and using it to my advantage on the battlefield, and I think it's time to give back a little. I have plenty of experience using Semi-auto snipers due to the fact I usually play as recon, but there was one thing that always bothered me: How fast can you fire the SA snipers without being affected by spread or recoil increase. I think I've found a way to calculate this value making a few assumptions. From what i understand, the recoil and spread values aren't active while you are firing a gun in battlefield 3. Automatic firearms begin to feel these decreases as soon as the firetime is done, but at that exact instance, the next shot is fired, meaning these decrease values are never felt during automatic fire. For semi auto snipers, I'm assuming the same principal is true. Each sniper has a firetime during which you cant shoot. I'm guessing spread and recoil decrease doesn't work during that time either, which is why you cant hit the broad side of a barn door if you spam the trigger. With this in mind, here are my calculations for the effective usage of the QBU-88:

Spread

at 0.8 increase per shot and 15.0 decrease per second we find the time it takes for the spread to reset after the firetime is over.

0.8/15.0=.0533

Adding this time to the firetime of the QBU, we can find the time it takes for the spread to completely reset after taking a shot.

.0533+.2308=.2841

Taking the reciprocal and multiplying it by 60 gives us our answer

(1round/.2841sec) * (60sec/1min) = 211RPM